

Well yesterday it really did rain on our parade as we headed to Brighton to do some out and proud things. I’d like to say our spirits weren’t dampened by the mood, but, they were, so we didn’t spend as much time there as we’d have liked to. I didn’t realise how short the journey was from London to Brighton, literally took us about an hour on the train! So it’s safe to say I’ll be heading down there a bit mo

re often in future, if not for the pride then for the beach, sea and clubs, as yesterday I saw and experienced none of that! Which leaves me to wonder what we actually DID do yesterday?? Well, there was a lot of walking, (and running, christ) some major peeing, and a lot of laughs. Then there was the train ride home. Literally that was it. Ha. But we did have fun and saw a lot of bizarre things. I think that’s the first time that chavs have walked onto a train and I haven’t felt intimated or worried; what with the gays definitely outdoing the chavs on the gay to chav ratio. I always get excited if I see a possible gay, with general whispers and points to the person next to me that goes something like ‘definitely a dyke’. But seen as there were going to be a lot of them heading to Brighton at the same time as we were, I couldn’t really muster up enough mouth muscle energy to give a full account each time I saw a girl with short hair or a guy with tight tops and a shoulder bag (major stereotyping there don’t take my word for it). So instead we had a shortened type of recognition in the form of two

words: ‘totally proud’. Well it worked for us. But England weather being how it is, completely unpredictable, it rained like there was no tomorrow. For a time I did my best to stay dry; fleeting between various umbrellas in a hope that my hair would stay intact, however after a point I really lost all motivation to keep up this endeavour, and thought fuck it this is gay pride not fashion week, I’ll be gay, proud, and wet. EXCUSE the pun. It was so good to see everyone come together for a day to celebrate their sexuality, and it made me think how un-alone I really am. I knew there were plenty of gays out there, but seeing them altogether like that you don’t quite realise the amount of company you really have. The atmosphere was so chilled and you could sense the aura of happiness about people, which made it all the nicer to be around. I’m not saying us gays are friendlier than the hetero’s, but I got the feeling that it was easier to talk to random people, and that you wouldn’t get evil eyed or told to fuck off as a reply to ‘Where are the toilets?’
Looks like you had a gay-tastic time in Brighton, pity about the rain!
ReplyDeleteBRAVA! I enjoyed reading this cos i was there
ReplyDeleteYour lovely looking x
ReplyDelete